

# **Awards for Faculty Excellence**

Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

<u>excellence.awards@ualberta.ca</u> provost.ualberta.ca

# Henry Marshall Tory Chair

The Henry Marshall Tory Chair is a prestigious five-year appointment at the University of Alberta, named in honor of the institution's first president, Henry Marshall Tory. The Chairs are expected to: i) have made internationally recognized contributions in their fields; ii) bring to the University exceptional capabilities in scholarship, teaching, and creative activities; iii) be senior leaders at the University; iv) present a highly positive profile for research, scholarship, and creative activities both internally and externally. The Tory Chair program primarily supports disciplines within the humanities, social sciences, and fine arts.

Funds in the amount of \$20,000/annum are available to support approved research and creative scholarly activities during the five-year term, with the possibility of renewal for an additional five-year term.

# Eligibility

Any full-time member of the academic teaching staff at the University of Alberta from the following categories (as outlined in the UAPPOL Recruitment Policy [Appendix A]) may apply:

- A1.1 (Schedule A Academic Faculty Member);
- A1.6 Contingent (Schedule A Academic Faculty Member)

Normally, recipients will have achieved the rank of Associate Professor or equivalent.

## **Selection Guidelines**

As outlined in the <u>UAPPOL Application and Selection Procedure</u>, the following was considered in the development of the adjudication criteria for the Henry Marshall Tory Chair:

- Internationally recognized contributions in their fields.
- Evidence of a career commitment to teaching excellence, research excellence and leadership.
- Positive profile for teaching, research, and creative activities both internally and externally.

Henry Marshall Tory Chairs aim to provide outstanding academics with funding for initiatives related to the integration of teaching and research primarily in the social sciences, humanities, or fine arts.

# **Application Process**

## **Two-Phase Application Approach**

In **Phase 1** of the application process, we invite you to submit an expression of interest. This should introduce yourself to the committee, describe how you engage with the institutional commitments outlined in <u>Braiding Past, Present and Future: University of Alberta's Indigenous Strategic Plan</u> and our <u>institutional commitments to equity, diversity, and inclusivity</u>. Your expression of interest should also highlight your commitment and dedication to excellence in teaching and research. Those selected to advance to **Phase 2** will be asked to provide a detailed narrative application, including specific evidence that demonstrates your excellence in these areas.

In other words, Phase 1 is about introducing yourself and your story, and Phase 2 is about diving deeper and providing concrete examples and evidence to support that story.

An **Application Template** is available online through the <u>Awards for Faculty Excellence</u> website.

Translation services are available upon request at no cost to the applicant.

## **Multi-Modal Application**

You are welcome to submit your application in the modality of your choosing (written, audio, video, graphics/animation etc.). The application template is designed to provide guidance on the criteria and specific information that should be included in your submission. If you prefer an alternative submission method or modality, please contact <a href="mailto:excellence.awards@ualberta.ca">excellence.awards@ualberta.ca</a> for assistance.

The <u>Digital Scholarship Centre</u> offers support for the creation and production of multimedia resources, including access to a new media studio, assistance with video production, and <u>free consultations with knowledgeable staff</u>.

## **Deadline and Submission**

Combine all pages into one PDF file and upload your single PDF application by 12:00 p.m. (noon) on Friday, April 4, 2025.

#### **File Naming Convention:**

Name your file as: Lastname\_Firstname\_HMTC.pdf

Submit your complete application online through the Awards for Faculty Excellence website.

## Selection Process

The Henry Marshall Tory Chair Award will be adjudicated by the Awards for Faculty Excellence Adjudication Committee. The Committee requires that no more than one member is absent from any meeting where decisions are made. All proceedings are to remain confidential.

## **Committee Membership**

Chair (voting)

Vice-Provost (Learning Initiatives)

## Members (voting)

- Member appointed by the Vice-Provost (Indigenous Programming and Research)
- Member appointed by the Vice-Provost (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)
- Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research or delegate
- An executive member of the Students' Union or delegate (one-year appointment and may be appointed for a second year)
- An executive member of the Graduate Students' Association or delegate (one-year appointment and may be appointed for a second year)
- Executive Director, Centre for Teaching and Learning or delegate
- Dean or representative from each College
- Dean or representative from one of the stand-alone faculties
- A member of the GFC Committee on the Learning Environment appointed by the Chair
- A member of the University Teaching Awards Committee appointed by the Chair
- Two (2) Academic Staff members selected at large by GFC

## Resource Members (non-voting)

- Portfolio Initiatives Coordinator, Office of the Provost
- Executive Assistant, Office of the Provost

Many considerations guided the development of this adjudication committee, including a range of expertise that will enhance the Committee's ability to execute this process using an equity lens.

## **Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Training**

The University of Alberta will provide training on equity, diversity and inclusion including instructions on limiting the impact of conscious and unconscious bias to all individuals involved in the adjudication process.

#### **Announcement of the Award**

The appointment will be formally recognized at the annual Celebrate! Teaching. Learning. Research event.

## Support

If you require assistance please contact us at <a href="mailto:excellence.awards@ualberta.ca">excellence.awards@ualberta.ca</a>.

# Reporting Requirements

A final report on the Henry Marshall Tory Chair project or planned activities is due within three months of the end of the term.

There is no template for the final report. A brief summary (up to 4 pages) highlighting the Henry Marshall Tory Chair project activities and the outcomes realized during the term is sufficient for final reporting purposes. An electronic copy of the report should be sent to the Vice-Provost (Learning Initiatives) at excellence.awards@ualberta.ca.